Classic Radio: “My Favorite Husband”

3 Comments

I just ran across a trio of episodes of the classic radio show, “My Favorite Husband,” which starred Lucille Ball and Richard Denning.  It’s common knowledge that “My Favorite Husband” was the initial basis for what would become (arguably) the most beloved sitcom of all time, I Love Lucy.

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to share them here:

Note that these are three episodes that aired consecutively in 1949.

“The French Lessons” – December 9, 1949

“George’s Christmas Present”December 16, 1949

“The Sleigh Ride” - December 23, 1949

“My Favorite Husband” credits:


Starring Lucille Ball
With 
Richard Denning

myfavoritehusband2Produced & Directed by Jess Oppenheimer (episodes 14-125)
Written by  Jess Oppenheimer, Madelyn Pugh & Bob Carroll Jr. (episodes 13-125)
Featuring Ruth Perrott as Katy the Maid
Original Music by Marlin Skiles
Conducted by 
Wilbur Hatch
Announcer Bob LeMond
Broadcast over
 CBS Radio (7/5/48-3/31/51)
Sponsored by 
JELL-O (General Foods) (1949-1951)

 

 

3 thoughts on “Classic Radio: “My Favorite Husband”

    • Thanks! These are fun – I downloaded some to my iPod and listen now and again. It’s surprising – or at least was to me – how similar they are to I LOve Lucy. I love listening to how “Lucy” comes through and we can picture her in all the stunts later on. Anyway – such fun.

      Aurora

  1. Pingback: Old Time Radio Thursdays – #018: My Favorite Husband (1948-1951) « Durnmoose Movie Musings

Leave a Reply

