Candid Camera…a look back

1 Comment

Allen Funt, television producer, director, writer and personality best known for creating and hosting Candid Camera was born today in 1914.

Funt perfected an art that has entertained people for nearly 60 years. From a humble start on radio in 1947, he used hidden microphones and cameras to catch unsuspecting people worldwide—all in the spirit of fun.

“I learned the power of radio watching Eleanor Roosevelt do her show. I used to go up to Hyde Park and hold her papers. I was just a messenger, but it planted the bug of radio in me.”

From Candid Microphone on radio…

Recorded on October 24, 1947, here’s an episode of Candid Microphone featuring Bela Lugosi:

To Candid Camera on television…

An American institution. Candid Camera became part of popular culture…

I was over at my tumblr page with the intent of posting at least one entry of Candid Camera as a simple birthday remembrance to Allen Funt.  However, as I was looking through the available clips, I soon found myself crying with laughter so I am posting a few here to have at hand whenever I need a laugh.  If you happen on in, I hope you enjoy these as well.

“The Unanswerable Phone Call”

“The Secretary” (Woody Allen)

“Losing Your Bread”

Segments featuring legend, Buster Keaton

“Lady with a monkey on her head”

Kids…

SMILE…

One thought on “Candid Camera…a look back

  1. Pingback: Funt allan | Selfbuildusa

Leave a Reply

