A New Blog Association and a blogathon

2 Comments

A week or two ago I visited my favorite blog, Classic Film and TV Cafe, and noticed a badge I hadn’t seen before. Its title, The Classic TV Blog Association.  I clicked on it and read the details about this organization I’d love to be a part of.  Now, I have to admit that the best part of blogging for me is being a part of a community of classic film and television lovers who share stories and memories while also learning from passionate fans. I know very little about formal blogging organizations and, given my very casual style (if you will), I feel rather unworthy to even ask about those types of things. In truth I started blogging strictly for fun after reading other people’s commentaries I thought, hey, I can do that. And so I did.

Well, good, bad or indifferent I now have three blogs, Once Upon a Screen, which is where I post commentaries, pictorials, etc. on classic film fare, Citizen Screenings where I post on films or topics from the post-classic era (late 1960s and later) and this page, How Sweet It Was, which, if you’re reading this you’d know, is dedicated to classic television.  I’m having a blast exploring and expressing.  But, I digress.

So, what the hell, I thought, what have I to lose? I quickly emailed Rick, who leads the gang of fabulous cinephiles and classic TV addicts at the Cafe…and the person who created the new Association. He responded to me right away.  He told me this modest, simple TV blog of mine met the guidelines, which are really easy to meet if one makes sure all original ideas are given their proper credit. The aforementioned badge now sits proudly on this blog’s home page.  Rick also informed me that I am a founding member of The Classic TV Blog Association.  I know that in the scheme of things this means little as “founding” simply means I happen to be one of the first people to click on that link.  But still.  It’s exciting for me.  The other founding members (so far) are seriously great bloggers, the kind I aspire to be – if only I could quit my day job.

Anyway, by way of this post I want to thank Rick for creating this great Association intended to establish and/or strengthen a community of classic TV fans.  I’m not blowing smoke when I say that from the moment I signed on to twitter, which was my first formal step into the social media world, and happened across his handle (@Classic_Film) and subsequently visited his great blog, I was hooked.  I’ve “met” many other great bloggers and a myriad of other creative and unique sites that inspire me to venture forth with my rantings, but his remains the standard of quality.  It means the world to my blogging self that I can be a part of this endeavor that’s a part of that blogging world.

And now…

Just mere days after its inception, The Classic TV Blog Association is hosting its first official event, The CLASSIC TV HORROR HOST BLOGATHON.

This is not only exciting, but promises to be loads of ghoulish, horror-filled fun.  If you’re a classic horror film and television fan, chances are you have some great memories to share about your favorite Classic TV Horror Host.  Go here for blogathon details.  If you happen to have the stories, the memories and/or the passion but no blog, I’d be more than happy to post your entry on this page.  You can email me at citizenscreenclassics@gmail.com

I hope to see you on a campy horror set – mwaaaaahahahahahaha

To whet your appetite, images of a few of the classic horror hosts…

Vampira

Zacherley, The Cool Ghoul

Sir Graves Ghastly

Sir Cecil Creape

How horribly sweet it was.

2 thoughts on “A New Blog Association and a blogathon

  1. Television, in its finest moments should be an event. Cable television, home video, and the technologies of the digital and computer age has stripped us of the intimacy of a non-global television world. As you travel from blog to blog, you will read of individual television-viewing experiences of people from across the country. Local city markets existed in Cleveland, Buffalo, St, Louis, and many other smaller cities, along with the larger markets in Los Angeles, Chicago, and New York. Each television market had its own local personalities, commercials, and programming. Kids shows, movie showcases, independent stations’ shows, and perrennial broadcast events were sprinkled liberally throughout the years over the 5 to 7 channel selection on our dials. Roof antennas and rabbit ears littered our roof tops to coax the glorious signals into our livingroom TV sets, however staticy or snowy the reception was.
    Furthermore, the requirement of supreme patience was paramount. No videos or DVDs were available. No online steeaming or Netflix walked with us on our Smartphones. And REALLY! How sweet that was! We had to wait for The Wizard of Oz or the next installment of Chiller Theatre. You couldn’t just “pop it in”…ya hadda wait, check the TV Guide, and behave yourself. HA HA HA! Then when it came on, it was AN EVENT! That is missing from today’s TV viewing. And I am NOT making a negeative comment on “the youth of today” or “these young punk kids”. In fact some of us were young punk kids, attitude and all.
    Simply put, folks, let us use the videos, DVDs, Netflix, and online techno-jazz on a schedule. Play The Wizard of Oz, at most, on two well-spaced times of the year only. Relive an old Chiller Theatre schedule by playing Curse of the Werewolf on Saturday night right at 7:30 p,m, on the dot! I do that and it creates an event, not just the, “Dude, I watch it any old time, why not?” attitude.
    Like the son says, “…try a little tem-per-ennccee!”
    Love, Chris “Moaneez”, Cortlandt Manor, N.Y.

Leave a Reply

