Big Stars on the Small Screen Blogathon

78 Comments

The time has arrived…

BIG

“I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.”
― Groucho Marx

Despite what Groucho may have said he was one of the big stars who appeared regularly on television and did quite well.  The famous Marx is just one of those featured in the line-up for the Big Stars on the Small Blogathon, a two-day event replete with talent and interesting stories.  I couldn’t be more excited about the shows and stars featured or more appreciative of the impressive list of bloggers participating.

I will be updating the links as entries come in so be sure to check in as the event progresses.

Without further ado here they are – Big Stars on the Small Screen…

Thursday, March 20

Classic Film and TV Cafe – The Errol Flynn Theater

Another Old Movie Blog – “The Clementine Jones Story” – Wagon Train, starring Ann Blyth

The Vintage Cameo – Buster Keaton on “The Twilight Zone”

Pop (Culture) by Book Worm Greg – Ida Lupino on “Columbo”

TV When I Was Born – Groucho Marx on “Bob Hope presents Chrysler Theater”

Imagine MDD – Raymond Burr

Pre-Code.com – “The Barbara Stanwyck Show,” featuring Stanwyck and Joan Blondell in “Sign of the Zodiac”

The Movie Rat – Robert Loggia as Elfego Baca

How Sweet it WasBabyface Bogart on “The Jack Benny Show”

Silver Scenes – “The Snoop Sisters” with Helen Hayes and Mildred Natwick

Girls Do Film – Katharine Hepburn’s TV Movies

Critica Retro – Ray Milland on “Hart to Hart”

Minoo for Classic Movie Hub – Angela Lansbury on “Murder She Wrote”

Friday, March 21

Caftan Woman – Dick Powell’s “Zane Grey Theater”

Thrilling Days of Yesteryear – “Gun Smoke” episode, “The Jailer” with guest star, Bette Davis

Movies Silently – Francis X. Bushman on TV

Portraits by Jenni  – “Have Gun Will Travel” featuring Vincent Price

Michael’s TV Tray – Stolen Footprints: Lucy and John Wayne

The Great Katharine Hepburn – “The Julie Andrews Hour”

Made for TV Mayhem – “Do Not Fold, Spindle or Mutilate” starring Mildred Natwick, Sylvia Sidney, Helen Hayes and Myrna Loy. (Made-for-TV movie)

Pop (Culture) by Book Worm Greg – Janet Leigh on “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.”

Mildred’s Fatburgers All About Evil – Anne Baxter on “Columbo”

Happy Thoughts, Darling – Myrna Loy on “Family Affair”

Film: Take as Directed – Martin Milner on Film and TV

A Shroud of Thoughts – “The Big Valley” starring Barbara Stanwyck

Silver Scenes – “The Stately Ghosts of England” with Margaret Rutherford

How Sweet it Was – Irene Dunne on “The Jack Benny Program”

The Movie Rat – Leslie Nielsen as The Swamp Fox

Outspoken and Freckled – James Garner as Maverick

What a line-up!

How Sweet it Was

stanny

Announcement:

I’ve been very lucky to have had the opportunity to co-host several successful blogathon events dedicated to topics such as 31 Days of Oscar, Dynamic Duos in Classic Film, What a Character! and the Classic Movie History Project all centered on classics of the silver screen.  Now I’m venturing forth with my first solo hosting gig and thought I’d return to where the love of classics started for me, television with the Big Stars on the Small Screen Blogathon.  It was, after all, by way of a small Magnavox set, similar to the one pictured on the bottom-right corner of this ad that I was first introduced to classic movies.

mag

So that’s the story and here are the details:

Many big Hollywood stars, like the ones whose images are featured on the banners included here had their own shows and many more also guest starred or hosted anthology series with revolving stories.  As such you’ve a treasure trove of television shows to choose from – any topic, episode, series or guest appearance is welcome.  You can write about the history of a series, a silver screen star’s road to the small screen or submit a review of a particular guest appearance.  Whatever you want.  The only requirement is that the star(s) you choose must have had a career in the movies.

ban groucho

The event is scheduled for March 20 and 21.  If you want to submit an entry (or more), and I certainly hope you do, please…

  • submit topics either by leaving a comment on this post, send via twitter to @CitizenScreen or by email to citizenscreenclassics@gmail.com
  • include the title and link to your blog, contact information and topic
  • include one of the event banners included in this post on your blog to help promote the event.

Finally, I must offer two special THANK YOUS – first, to Rick of the Classic Film and TV Cafe for his encouragement and to my friend, Nyssa for making these banners for me!  She’ll become a fan of classics yet!

Thanks also to you for your time.  Happy blogging!

Aurora

mav banner

78 thoughts on “Big Stars on the Small Screen Blogathon

  1. Hi there! I would cover William Boyd’s Hopalong Cassidy but I have already covered him! 😦 So I shall cover one or more of Francis X Bushman’s Perry Mason appearances, if that works for you. Splendid idea, looking forward to it!

  2. Great idea, Aurora! I plan to take part through my “TV When I was Born” blog. Haven’t decided on a subject yet, but there’s a few shows right off the bat that I haven’t written about yet, that would be perfect!

  3. Aurora, you’re going to laugh. I just posted this blogathon on CMH! I’ve taken to doing that because so many people never post their events. Sorry for stepping on toes, but now it’s up twice. :O

  4. Sounds like fun! I definitely want to participate. I need to do a little thinking about what my topic will be, though.

    Amy
    Embarrassing Treasures

    • Thanks Minoo! So happy you’re joining the fun and I love Ms Lansbury! This comment went into Spam for some reason so I didn’t see it sooner.

      Aurora

  5. Ooh, this sounds fun! I’d like to participate. I’ll write about Myrna Loy’s guest appearance on a season 1 episode of “Family Affair,” playing a hapless maid working in Mr. Davis’s apartment building.

  6. I found one that I want to write about: Groucho Marx’ adaptation of his play, “Time for Elizabeth,” as it appeared on a 1964 episode of “Bob Hope Presents the Chrysler Theatre.”

  7. Pingback: Coming soon: Big Stars on the Small Screen | Michael's TV Tray

  8. Man I’m behind! Just seeing this.
    Can I do Van Johnson on I Love Lucy? (my favorite episode)
    If that’s taken I’ll do Esther Williams on the Donna Reed Show

  9. I’m afraid I won’t be able to participate after all. I’ve been ill this week and just can’t get my entry finished. I look forward to reading all these fascinating-sounding posts, though!
    Amy,
    Embarrassing Treasures

  10. Pingback: Coming Attractions – Myrna, Monty, Italy, and more! | Happy Thoughts, Darling

  11. Pingback: Pre-Code Retro - "Sign of the Zodiac" Review (1961) Pre-Code Hollywood, 1930-34 | Pre-Code.Com

  12. Pingback: Babyface Bogart on The Jack Benny Show | How Sweet It Was

  13. Pingback: Katharine Hepburn’s TV movies | Girls Do Film

  14. Pingback: Stolen Footprints: Lucy and John Wayne | Michael's TV Tray

  15. Pingback: Have Gun Will Travel Featuring Vincent Price | portraitsbyjenni

  16. Pingback: Myrna Loy on Family Affair (1967) | Happy Thoughts, Darling

  17. Pingback: Irene Dunne on The Jack Benny Show | How Sweet It Was

Leave a comment